All about Tow Cars and Towing Caravans

Outfit matching




Links

Caravanning4u
Touring & Tenting
Towsure
More >>>



User Reviews
Ford C-Max

Ford C-Max - 1.6 16v with a Bailey

Christoff reviewed a Ford C-Max - 1.6 16v (74 Kw/99 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of 1167 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 86%* = 90 km/u = 8%

My C-Max 1.6 and Baily Ranger 470/4 have now been on some great runs over the past 18 months. We towed the van from Hoddlesden, Lancs to Swanage last summer ( with 2 young children and all the bits that go with a family on a two week holiday).We were a little bit cramped in the car. I also had to hold my breath going up the bigger hills but I found if we all rocked backwards and forwards in our seats we eventually got to the top (a bit like a child on a swing trying to build up some momentum!!) Sereously, this has been our first caravan and we knew the C-Max would just about do the job and therefore I have no complaints about the cars' capabilities. We are due to swop the car this year and I am contemplaiting a Mondeo 2.0 TDI estate which should eat our Baily Ranger.


Ford C-Max - 1.6 16v TDCi with a Avondale

Slarti1972 reviewed a Ford C-Max - 1.6 16v TDCi (80 Kw/107 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Avondale Dart 510-5 of 1180 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 91%* = 96 km/u = 15%

Rather impressed with the performance while towing with this car. Was initially a little concerned regarding the small engine for towing however now I have collected the van and brought it home I have to admit it tows very well. I was able to maintain the speed limit even uphill in 5th gear. A very good car to tow with... The van isn't bad either


Ford C-Max - 1.8 16v with a Abbey

Adam Donald reviewed a Ford C-Max - 1.8 16v (92 Kw/123 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Abbey Vogue 470 of 1290 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 93%* = 100 km/u = 9%

The Cmax tows exceptionally well, my previous towcars have all been diesel, whilst lacking the lugging power of the diesel i am very impressed. Drop into 4th gear and effortly cruise at 50/55 mph on a quite steep incline. Very stable at motorway speed even with a fairly strong crosswind. Against-- easily stalled when starting off on an incline, Overall for petrol very good, towing MPG. 28.


Ford C-Max - 1.8 16v with a Eriba

Ian reviewed a Ford C-Max - 1.8 16v (92 Kw/123 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Eriba Touring Troll 550 GT of 1140 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 83%* = 111 km/u = 9%

Found the C-max copes well pulling the Eriba Troll when cruising on motorways, average around 27-28 MPG.

Slightly concerned with its ability on hills. When I encountered a particularly steep hill I was forced through the gears all the way down to first. Having said that it probably means that the car is well in need of a good service.


Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi with a Bailey

Patrick Elliott Cousins reviewed a Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi (85 Kw/114 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Champagne of 1407 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 95%* = 95 km/u = 16%

I have 1 2006,1.8durotorq HD TDCI,Ford Focus 'C' max, pulls the carvan like a dream. For a small car it is heavy performance is good


Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi with a Lunar

Paul Chatten reviewed a Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi (85 Kw/114 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Lunar Ariva of 980 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 75%* = 101 km/u = 20%

I tow a Lunar Ariva GTS with a 1.8 Ford C max TDCI (114bhp). It is a perfect match and performs really well. We recently returned from a winter rally in Spain completing over 2500 miles at 36mpg


Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi with a Lunar

Chris Shelley reviewed a Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi (85 Kw/114 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Lunar Stellar of 1225 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 90%* = 97 km/u = 18%

I have a 2008 1.8Durotorq TDCI C Max towing a Lunar Stellar 1200kg loaded. The car overheats on hills and the clutch stinks if you have to slip it or when reversing the van. My previous 1.8 Focus seized up towing and Fords had to put a new engine in.


Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi with a Bailey

Terry Powell reviewed a Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi (85 Kw/114 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 460 of 1050 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 66%* = 96 km/u = 17%

My car a 1.8 TDCI 2007 Titanium is more than adequate and pulls our 1998 Ranger 460/2 with no trouble


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v with a Adria

Antonio Italia reviewed a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v (107 Kw/143 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Adria Altea Tay of 1153 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 89%* = 122 km/u = 12%

Confermo totalmente la vostra valutazione. Il treno risponde bene sia in stabilità, (non ho lo stabilizzatore sulla roulotte) che in assetto. La vettura risponde bene anche in 5° marcia. In montagna con un minimo di attenzione viaggia tranquilla anche su tornanti al 10/12%.


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v aut. with a Elddis

trevor jones reviewed a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v aut. (107 Kw/143 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Elddis Odyssey 524 of 1525 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 107%* = 95 km/u = 14%

no trouble at all towing with car goes like a dream gets 26 miles to a gallon of petrol which is very good for automatic


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi with a Adria

Robin reviewed a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/134 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Adria Adora Plus 532 UP of 1425 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 100%* = 100 km/u = 21%

Combination works really well under normal conditions. Steady as a rock (Al-Ko tow ball stabiliser) at all sensible speeds. Bags of spare power for acceleration and will tow up a gentle slope at a tickover (got stuck in aftermath of an accident east of Oxford on M40....) Only downside is clutch is a bit lightweight so you have to be very careful especially manoeuvring on soggy grass! So far (4 months practise) very happy!


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi with a Bailey

dave reviewed a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/134 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of 1405 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 99%* = 102 km/u = 21%

We've been towing a Bailey Ranger (1200kg MTPLM) fully loaded (over 3000miles) and have just upgraded to a Pageant Provence (1420kg MTPLM) which is loaded pretty close to it's max. The C-max 2.0tdci heaves it along as though it's not there. Steady and manouverable, plenty of acceleration and cruises well at 60mph in sixth gear at about 1700rpm (cruise control on). If we keep the speed to about 55 when towing then the fuel consumption is a very reasonable 28-30mpg. Solo we get 40mpg around the country lanes and about 50 on a motorway run.
And as Robin says it'll tow quite happily on tickover 5mph in first and 10mph in second


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi with a Fleetwood

Tony reviewed a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/134 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Fleetwood Meridien 520-EB of 1350 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 90%* = 102 km/u = 20%

We have been towing a Fleetwood 520 EB for six months with a Ford C-Max 2.0 Tdci. It has been a very comfortable towing experience, cruises at 1800 revs with cruise control on in 6th gear (on the flat). I am very happy with the combination.


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi with a Hobby

J Carlow reviewed a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/134 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Hobby Excellent Easy 495 UK of 1329 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 88%* = 101 km/u = 21%

C Max is a great tow car. At 87% it's a tad over the ideal with the Hobby, but driven at legal and sensible speeds you couldn't wish for better. Very powerful engine.


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi with a Ace

Paul reviewed a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/134 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Ace Jubilee Envoy of 1310 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 87%* = 102 km/u = 21%

I've towed my full loaded Jubilee Envoy to Spain with the CMax for the last three summers. It tows exceptionally well and returns around 30 mpg on a mixture of roads and I tend to keep off the tolls. 6th gear has only limited use when towing but it will sit all day at 60mph in 5th with only the steeper hills needing a change to 4th. The clutch is not easy to prevent from slipping (and smelling) when siting the van on awkward slopes but mine has survived nearly 70k miles with no problems.
Solo, the Ford is a nippy little runaround so makes a good all round choice. Its been reliable enough but build quality is not up to other makes though.


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi with a Bailey

Ronty reviewed a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/134 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Senator Vermont of 1383 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 92%* = 100 km/u = 20%

I've towed with ford mondeo. and thought that was good.But the C Max is just as good.Very pleased with mine after 16 month's .


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi with a Bailey

Colin Anstey reviewed a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/134 bhp). Modelyear: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of 1362 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 96%* = 103 km/u = 21%

My C max and Bailey Champagne seem to be the perfect match I have now been towing this combination for two years and have not had any problems in my very varied journeys (Derbyshire to Cornwall ) Motorways , Cornish lanes and hills are absoloutly no problems. returning appprox 30 M.P.G.Overtaking @ 50 M.P.H.(on dual carriageways and motorways )is a doddle.and would not hesitate in recommending C max 2.0 Litre for towing


Ford Grand C-Max - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] with a Avondale

kevin ryder reviewed a Ford Grand C-Max - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (103 Kw/138 bhp). Modelyear: november 2010 - up to now) and a Avondale Argente 555-4S of 1400 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 92%* = 102 km/u = 19%

tows very good,up hill and down,i live in north yorkshire,it as just replaced a volvo v70 2.4d geartronic,
much quicker of the mark and just as stable,maybe slightly more so,i think the better aerodynamics and shorter rear overhang must help,very happy with my new choice,also surprisingly quieter and smoother than volvo and much more agile when solo.




* Calculated weight ratio according to the British Towing Code (loaded weight caravan / kerb weight car)