All about Tow Cars and Towing Caravans

Outfit matching




Links

Caravanning4u
Touring & Tenting
Towsure
More >>>



User Reviews
Mitsubishi Outlander

Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] with a Swift

Sandra Wright reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] (103 Kw/138 bhp). Modelyear: march 2007 - january 2010) and a Swift Charisma 550 of 1401 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 86%* = 102 km/u = 18%

What an excellent choice we have made in this set up. Last year we took the unit touring to the west side of Scotland from Lincolnshire. Went right up to Oban, we did not encounter any problems at all. The car was everything we thought it would be. The only down side was the car is only in petrol but a new model in diesel is being brought out in February 2007.


Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] with a Bailey

iainhargreaves@msn.com reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] (103 Kw/138 bhp). Modelyear: march 2007 - january 2010) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of 1464 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 87%* = 101 km/u = 17%

No problems towing a S6 Senator Arizona with our Outlander Elegance. The VW sourced 2.0 D-ID has plenty of torque to make good progress in all on-road conditions. It did struggle to reverse to van on a very muddy field, and I could smell the clutch afterwards. However, having previously towed with a two year old Shogun, maybe I was asking a little too much of the little Outlander. Verdict; If you want a decent towcar, with excellent fuel economy and low co2 emitions and 7 seats, you won't be dissapointed with the Outlander. However, if you want the ultimate towing machine, buy the Shogun. They don't break down and they will last you a lifetime,but they aren't cheap to run.


Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] with a Swift

Shaun reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] (103 Kw/138 bhp). Modelyear: march 2007 - january 2010) and a Swift Challenger 540 of 1490 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 88%* = 101 km/u = 17%

Great Car towing a mid range van. We took all our family to France with this car. There were 3 Adults and 4 children. I had no problems at all. Fully loaded. Average 27MPG. The 4WD comes in handy espically on slippery roads when taking of on a hill. The boot space is good when carrying 5 but not when you have 7. Its not a true 7 seater, the maxium age you could fit the children in the rear two seats are upto about 10. Really good towing car, buy one.


Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] with a Bailey

Kevin Woodfield reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] (103 Kw/138 bhp). Modelyear: march 2007 - january 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 620/6 of 1481 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 86%* = 103 km/u = 17%

Had 3 Outlanders and apart from a turbo pipe coming off (loss of power) we have never had a problem. Carries 6 of us, all our luggage, awning etc etc, clutch smell is evident when reversing if you don't get it right first time. All in all a very good combination


Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] with a Abbey

Greg Murry reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] (103 Kw/138 bhp). Modelyear: march 2007 - january 2010) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 418 of 1427 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 81%* = 102 km/u = 17%

We have a chip type thing fitted to our 2.0 elegance which has increased the torque and bhp and mpg.
The Outlander tows well,even better in 4wd, very stable and ample power, I have had the same trouble with the turbo pipe be it has sine been recalled for this and my clutch does smell a bit when reversing. We have had ours for over two years now and no problems.


Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] with a Avondale

David Baker reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] (103 Kw/138 bhp). Modelyear: march 2007 - january 2010) and a Avondale Argente 550-4S of 1400 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 83%* = 104 km/u = 18%

This unit seems to be a jerky ride, even when the caravan is not loaded. I have noticed the same clutch smell when reversing.Also after travelling for just two hours with this combination, i have noticed a section of the detachable towball is showing a wearing grove were the pin locks in!
My previous tow cars have been a discovery and pick-up, which are great towcars, i am now considering changing my Outlander for a Shogun LWB ,any tips.


Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] with a Abbey

Craig John Parkinson reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.0 DI-D [4WD] (103 Kw/138 bhp). Modelyear: march 2007 - january 2010) and a Abbey Aventura 320 of 1389 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 87%* = 103 km/u = 19%

After the toruan I decided i needed something bigger, but the wife hates 4X4's. However the Mitsubishi out lander 2009 version 2.0 is nothing like a 4X4 but has all the benefits, 4 wheel drive when on slippery grass and will pull away from a junction without any wheel spin. It pulls the Aventura with no problems at all and will cruise at 60 in 6th With no problems, MPG is about 30 which is slightly better than the Touran which was about 28-29. Definatly will be looking to another outlander when its time to change


Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.2 DI-D Mivec [2WD] with a Bailey

simmons family reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.2 DI-D Mivec [2WD] (130 Kw/174 bhp). Modelyear: july 2010 - july 2012) and a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of 1244 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 85%* = 114 km/u = 27%

took our outlander on its first towing holiday to north devon near lynton we were really impressed thepower and ease it went up the hills and there were many hills! towing we on average got 26.5mpg and driving round and about we generally got 43mpg which we were pleased with as the hills were up to 20% at times plenty room in the boot to load up with essentials! the site attendant commented how well it drove up the wet field whilst towing and reversing into pitch. Later in the week we had to take the awning down in a rush due to severe winds and dumped it all in the boot easily can't wait to tow with it again but hoping for better weather next time.


Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.2 DI-D [4WD] with a Swift

Haydn E Ebbs reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.2 DI-D [4WD] (115 Kw/154 bhp). Modelyear: september 2007 - july 2010) and a Swift Charisma 230 of 1280 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 78%* = 111 km/u = 25%

A brilliant towing experience. The Outlander makes easy work of every scenario I presented including towing high passes on the French-Italian Alps.
With a fully loaded car and caravan at its maximum we experienced no problems. In saying that with heavy weight in the rear of the Outlander I may consider for the future fitting Firestone Air Assist for additiona height.


Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.4 MIVEC [4WD] with a Swift

Donald Micheal Ryder reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander - 2.4 MIVEC [4WD] (125 Kw/168 bhp). Modelyear: september 2007 - january 2010) and a Swift Challenger 560 of 1489 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 90%* = 109 km/u = 12%

We have towed with this vehicle for approximately 2 years , a bit thirsty about 21-22 mpg being a 4 wheel permanment drive and auto ,I had an LPG conversion costing 1000 ,I get the same performance from the Outlander but at a much less cost 46-50 pence per litre.We changed our van from a Charisma 560 to a Challenger 560 ,a lttle bit heavier and longer but so far the towing figures are the same,I would recommend the vehicle for towing and normal use ,it has the same charecteristics as a larger 4x4 but is much smaller ,not so many problems for the ladies when parking.The caravan is as usual up to Swift's very fine standards we particulary like the fixed bed .


Mitsubishi Outlander Sport - 2.4 16v aut. [4WD] with a Lunar

Mr A P Spence reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander Sport - 2.4 16v aut. [4WD] (118 Kw/158 bhp). Modelyear: october 2003 - december 2009) and a Lunar Clubman 475-CK of 1280 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 84%* = 103 km/u = 18%

The Mitusbishi proves to be a very capable tow car even on the steepest inclines with a lot of power and comfort. However fuel consumption is heavy on this petrol engined 4 x 4.


Mitsubishi Outlander Sport - 2.4 16v aut. [4WD] with a Sterling

Keith Stather reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander Sport - 2.4 16v aut. [4WD] (118 Kw/158 bhp). Modelyear: october 2003 - december 2009) and a Sterling Eccles Onyx of 1431 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 88%* = 103 km/u = 17%

thr outlander towed the caravan quite easily, however the nosweight was very critical as we set off with 40Kg and it was quite hairy on the motorway, setting the noseweight to 75-80 Kg balanced it up again, the only downside is the mpg, coming from a 2.8 shogun 1996, I expected much better performance(mpg)


Mitsubishi Outlander Sport - 2.4 16v aut. [4WD] with a Bailey

p matten reviewed a Mitsubishi Outlander Sport - 2.4 16v aut. [4WD] (118 Kw/158 bhp). Modelyear: october 2003 - december 2009) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of 1464 kg.

The towing capability for this outfit is:
= 95%* = 103 km/u = 17%

very thirsty round france for 3 weeks - returned between 15mpg and 18mpg. on the flat it was ok and controlled the van well but had no power to pull up the long hills of french motorways.( 40mph max on incline and 'hello to mr slow lane' again)




* Calculated weight ratio according to the British Towing Code (loaded weight caravan / kerb weight car)